Which is more accurate Vedic or western astrology? Well, today, we will seek answers to this question.

The foundation of Vedic astrology dates to 10,000 B.C. It originated from the oldest Vedic text, the ‘Rig Veda.’ The Vedic Astrology also called the Indian astrology or the Hindu astrology propels that the constellation and the position of the Moon at the time of a person’s birth affect his overall personality and destiny. On the other hand, Western astrology originated in the 3rd millennium B.C., much later than Vedic astrology. 

The western astrologers use the tropical calendar, which deems that all the positions of the planets are and would be fixed through eternity. In contrast, the Vedic astrologers believe a sidereal calendar that considers the changing positions of the cosmic bodies over centuries. 

A few years back, many of us heard about a zodiac sign named ‘Ophiuchus’ and how the western astrologers were talking about incorporating it into the Zodiac, which would make the Zodiac have a total of 13 signs. 

This confusion only arose because the western astrologers thought all planetary bodies’ positions and trajectories were fixed. So, when the sign of Ophiuchus approached the Zodiac wheel, they did not know what to do. There was no such confusion with the sidereal or the Vedic astrological system. 

Western Zodiac Wheel Vs. Vedic Zodiac Wheel 

To know more about the difference between Western and Vedic astrology, let’s take a look at all the 12 Zodiac Signs, their names, and their dates: 

Western Astrology Signs


Vedic Astrology Signs



March 21—April 19


April 14—May 15


April 20—May 20


May 15 —June 15


May 21—June 21


June 15 —July 16


June 22—July 22


July 16— August 17


July 23—August 22


August 17 —Sept 17


August 23— Sept 22


Sept 17— October 17


Sept 23—Oct 22


Oct 17—Nov16


Oct 23—Nov22


Nov16 —Dec 16


Nov 23—Dec 21


Dec 16—January 14


Dec 22—Jan 19


Jan 14—Feb 13


Jan 20—Feb 18


Feb 13— March 14


Feb 19—March 20


March 14— April 14

Western Astrology Vs. Vedic Astrology: 6 Basic Differences

So far, I have only made one distinction between western and Vedic astrology based on the calendar. There are numerous differences between the two modalities, and let’s take a look into them: 

Psychological Orientation Vs. Karmic & Dharmic Orientation

Modern western astrologers are more psychologically oriented. Modern western astrology is being majorly used to define a person’s characteristics based on their birth date. 

Vedic astrology gives us insight into karma and the drama of a person by being a torchbearer to the concepts of past life’s effects, karmic debts, challenges, and purpose for the present life. 


In western astrology, there are ten planets: the Sun, Moon, Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, and Pluto. It also digs deep into the concept of MC or Medium Coeli, which denotes the southernmost point in your chart and is used to predict your professional success. 

Vedic Astrology uses the concept of Navagraha, or nine planets; Moon, Sun, Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Rahu, and Ketu.

The Solar Vs. The Lunar System

Western astrologers rely on movement and the earth’s position in relation to the sun more at the time of a person’s birth. Hence, the emphasis is more on the character and the personality of an individual. 

The Vedic Astrologers consider that the sun determines a person’s personality, but the mind is denoted by the Moon of a person in a Vedic chart. Vedic astrologers give due importance to the Moon and encompass all the dimensions of a person’s life. 

Dasha System

The Vedic astrologers use a Dasha system called the Vimshotarri Dasha to determine the results of future events. They also use this to assess muhurta (auspicious date and time) for auspicious occasions like marriage, meetings, and business dealings. Western astrologers use no such things. 


With the western astrologers, things end at the division of the Zodiac wheel into twelve parts. In Vedic astrology, there is the concept of the Nakshatras, and there are 27 Nakshatras in total. Each Zodiac sign is divided into 3 Nakshatras, further divided into four padas. There is no concept of nakshatras or Padas in western astrology. 

Divisional Charts

There is just the birth chart in western astrology, and Vedic astrology has sixteen divisional charts that highlight each aspect of an individual’s life. 

  1. Rashi D1 Chart: Individual, self
  2. Hora D2: Family, wealth
  3. Drekkena D3: Siblings
  4. Chaturthamsa D4: Property and assets
  5. Saptamsa D7: Progeny
  6. Navamsa D9: Spouse, relationships
  7. Dasamsa D10: Profession
  8. Dwavamsa D12: Parents
  9. Shodasamsha D16: Vehicles
  10. Vimsamsa D20: Spiritual pursuits
  11. Chatur Vimamsa D24: Education, knowledge
  12. Sapta Vimamsa D27: Strengths & Weaknesses
  13. Trimsamsa D30: Evils
  14. Kha Vedamsa D40: Effects in the horoscope
  15. Aksha Vedamsa D45: Native’s conduct in society
  16. Shastiamsa D60: Karma and past life of the native 

Wrapping Up

Vedic astrology encloses a lot of territories that are yet unchartered by western astrology. It describes the native’s individuality and speaks of the past life karmas and the ways of redemption in this life through the path of dharma. Hence, Vedic astrology is deeper, richer, and more profound than western astrology. Now you have the answer to your question, which astrology chart is most accurate? But there’ll be no wonder if something comes up combining vedic and western astrology.

About Spirico – The Spiritual Company

Spirico -The Spiritual Company is a one-of-a-kind platform that offers astrological services such as free horoscope, free astrology, free Kundli and the best horoscope online services. We have the best astrologer who give you astrological solutions by making your astrology Kundli, Kundli horoscope and helping you find your horoscope. Avail of our free astrology services today!

Write A Comment